Facebook New Feature – Impersonation Alert
Facebook has been rolling out a new feature designed to stop what is perhaps the creepiest of all online behaviour.
The new tool, which has reportedly already been rolled out to 75 percent of accounts will help identify when an account is being impersonated.
When the tool thinks an account is being impersonated, it will send the user a notification that it believes they are being trolled.
The user will then need to confirm whether or they their account is being impersonated or whether it Facebook has made a mistake.
If the user confirms their account has been impersonated, a complaint will then be sent to Facebook which will be reviewed prior to deciding whether the copy account is to be taken down.
Facebook said that while impersonation isn’t a huge problem on the site, it can cause serious problems for those who do have their accounts impersonated.
Antigone Davis, Facebook’s head of global safety, told Mashable: “We heard feedback prior to the roundtables and also at the roundtables that this was a point of concern for women.
And it’s a real point of concern for some women in certain regions of the world where it [impersonation]may have certain cultural or social ramifications.”
The site is also introducing another feature which will enable people to report when intimate and non-consensual images of themselves are shared on the site.
Facebook believes this will help to stop abuse and allow people to report inappropriate images more easily.
Facebook has said it may also redirect people who report such abuse to online resources that offer advice and support on harassment, abuse and bullying.
Facebook added that another soon to be released new feature will help to educate users on how they can keep their photos more private.